White Rocks Inn

Wallingford, VT

Capacity: Up to 250 | WEBSITE | PHONE

About this Vendor

White Rocks Inn

Amenities + Details

  • Indoor Ceremony Area

  • Kosher Available

  • Liability Insurance

  • Liquor License

  • On the Water

  • Onsite Catering

  • Onsite Overnight Accommodations

  • Onsite Parking

  • Onsite Wedding Consultant

  • Outdoor Ceremony Area

  • Outdoor Reception Area

  • Outside Caterers Allowed

  • Site Fee

  • Tented Area

  • Valet Parking

  • Wheelchair Accessible

For more details about amenities, please message the Venue.

Price Range

$$$ - Moderate


Inn/B&B, Mansion/Historic Site, Unusual/Alternative


Contact Info

1774 US Route 7 South, Wallingford, VT

Amazing wedding, but....

Reviewed on 12/08/2014 Sarah E

This venue is absolutely beautiful. We are still getting compliments about how incredible the venue was and how fantastic everything looked. Our wedding was amazing in every way. It looked spectacular, seriously magazine quality. The vendors we worked with went above and beyond to make what we dreamed up come true. There were so many special touches that we would have never thought of without the help of our wedding planner. Our day ran smoothly and the wedding planner even had a JP on call, as our minister had not shown up as of 10 minutes before our wedding. This venue is great and everything that you would want for a barn wedding. We didn't even have to decorate the barn, as it’s so lovely on its own. We had vendors that were excited to work with us because we were getting married here. It’s a great place, no doubt. That being said, the owner/wedding planner is not the easiest person to work with. She has a very specific way that she likes to do things. That's all fine and good, but she does not always explain why she wants things a certain way. It was two weeks before our wedding and I was still having things printed up, because I needed to have everyone's seat at the table marked with seating cards. Her communications skills aren't the best and sometimes, she could come off as harsh or abrasive. There were not a lot of things that she would bend on, and to a certain degree, you want someone that works with you, not against you. She wasn't always clear in her directions. The venue can use some updating, which I think would be very beneficial. The toilet in the men's bathroom in the barn backed up several times during the wedding and then they had to close that bathroom entirely. Someone who was staying at the Inn went to get something from her room and heard the wedding planner arguing loudly with someone and cursing at that person. A member of the bar staff stomped out the barn in a huff and shoved chairs over in process. I did not see any of these things, but my guests did. That part does not please me, as that's not the professionalism that I would expect.

Location, Location, Location!

Reviewed on 9/03/2013 Margaret M

I am finally getting to write this review from my wedding early this summer. This site is so beautiful and really captures the beauty of Southern Vermont, I was married on top of the hill (Gorgeous although very windy)and had my reception in the barn. I would call my wedding country Chic, The atmosphere was Lovely and the food exceptional, the caterer really worked with us on our budget and menu selections. Inn recommended a fantastic florist who also aimed to please. Guests all seemed happy at the inn and breakfast was enjoyable. If I was to change anything I might forgo the wedding planning option as I was so hands on for the planning bit, and it did make our overall budget a little tighter. I know there is a lot of criticism regarding the owner, she is TOUGH on wedding day, However I think much of it is to keep to a schedule so the day runs smoothly...but make sure you let her know what moments you want to be sure not to miss; we never cut our cake! Everyone keeps talking about the food, the entertainment and the location. Can't mess with nature for providing a perfect setting.


Reviewed on 6/24/2013 Jennifer H

My new husband and I stayed at the White Rocks Inn last weekend. We did not get married at the Inn but stayed there for the weekend of our wedding. My sister and I had a hairdresser come to the room to do our hair and makeup. My two other bridesmaids were in the room as well with the door shut and we were being very quiet. In addition, there was no one else in the Inn at the time except for staff. I can't seem to wrap my mind around what prompted the owner to be so rude but she came in the room, gave me a death stare and asked why she was not informed that we were going to be there having our hair done in the rudest way I could possibly imagine. I asked if it was a problem and she said no but she didn't know why she was not informed in the same rude tone. She continued with the death stare and walked away. Now, first of all why in the world would I not be allowed to be in my room in the middle of the day and why was it a problem? We were not causing any problems in any way or disturbing anyone. It was ABSOLUTELY UNBELIEVABLE!!!! If anyone has been married recently you probably know how stressed you are by the time your wedding day comes around. Dealing with horrible people like that is just not worth it. Do yourself a favor and don't stay here. I grew up about a half hour away from this Inn and everyone I have talked to about the place said the owner was a *Witch. I wish I had taken their advice. Long story short, a little hospitality goes a long way (especially on your wedding day when you are not doing anything wrong and did not know that you could have been doing anything wrong), unfortunately LEE does not! It really is too bad because the Inn is in a beautiful place, too bad the owner ruined it!

7/09/2013 Response from Chara, the member

Of course all readers must realize there are 2 sides to every story. The young lady who wrote this review did stay at the Inn, however she did not inform the owner of all the additional people that would be joining her. Photographer, make up... Read Less Read More

Amazing Wedding Weekend!

Reviewed on 5/10/2012 Tricia L

We had an intimate wedding w/ a few guests at The White Rocks Inn. We stayed in the Milk House Cottage. Leigh arranged everything for us and every detail was beautiful! The decor was lovely, the food was amazing, and we felt truly pampered in every way! The best part was that we were able to just "show up" to our dream wedding. We definitely plan on returning on future anniversaries. We highly recommend the White Rocks Inn for anyone looking for a beautiful elopement, honeymoon, or traditional wedding site!

Would not recommend

Reviewed on 9/21/2011 Danielle H

We did not end up having our wedding at White Rocks Inn, because the responses we received from Leigh (new owner as of 2009 or 2010??) was rude and inflexible. The venue was in a beautiful location (although a little close to a main road) and the barn was so-so (it looked like horses could move right in and be happy). In the very beginning of our email correspondences, we asked if the date of September 10th was available. She responded by telling us Columbus Day weekend is busy and there were two other couples interested so I should schedule a time to visit if we were interested as well. Great, but I wasn’t asking about October 10th. I repeated the question and her response consisted of, “As I mentioned, that is a popular weekend…” I still don’t think she got it. Moving forward (I knew she was just confused about the date, but figured I could get over that once we straightened things out)… We asked her for approximate pricing for their menu selections to see if the place could fit within our budget. Anyone who has started their search for a venue knows that the cost of the place and rooms (if it’s an Inn) could look great, but then add in the cost of the food and it could blow your budget. Anyway, we did not want to have to come up with an entire menu selection in order to see any pricing, which is what it seemed she needed to see first before giving us prices. We thought it would be a waste of time and we were only in the process of deciding on a venue. As soon as I mentioned the words “fairly tight budget” she responded with, “It appears that your budget may not fit with our venue”… I hadn’t given a number of what our budget was! Only that it was “fairly tight”! I thought that was rude and had absolutely no desire to work with her any longer, especially on our wedding plans. I would not recommend this venue unless the owners change again!

9/22/2011 Response from Leigh, the member

Our information package includes a guideline on food service as follows: ...Catering food service is by quotation. A general guideline for cost of appetizers and dinner is a range from $50/person and up depending on your selections...this should provide a basis for determining your budget.... Read Less Read More

Amazing Setting!

Reviewed on 10/31/2010 J S

This location is ideal if you want a barn wedding. The historic barn is beauty before any decoration, with its warm antique structure and its beautiful view of Vermont mountains. The owners, Will and Leigh, were amazing in making it feel like we were having our wedding at a friend’s house instead of a venue. The large barn, with its many rooms, allows for the party to move comfortably from bar, to seating, to dancing with out separating the party. There is also a charming newly decorated inn and two cottages on the property, perfect for a few guests to stay very close.

11/01/2010 Response from the vendor

Thanks Jamie, we enjoyed helping make your wedding day special.


Send Message

TO White Rocks Inn