How to Get Legally Married in Oregon and Plan Your OR Wedding

Your guide to tying the knot in the Beaver State.
Ellen O'Brien - The Knot Contributor.
Ellen O'Brien
Ellen O'Brien - The Knot Contributor.
Ellen O'Brien
The Knot Contributor
  • Ellen is a contributor for The Knot, where she covers everything from honeymoons to wedding showers.
  • Formerly a fellow at Washingtonian magazine, Ellen has experience covering local weddings in the DC area.
  • Ellen also contributes to wedding venue round-ups at The Knot, helping compile the best wedding venues in cities across the country.
Updated Sep 01, 2021

The Pacific Northwest is known for its scenic overlooks, beautiful mountains—and gorgeous weddings. The state of Oregon is a popular place to say "I do" and for good reason. Nature lovers, this state is the perfect spot for you, and even if you prefer to enjoy nature from a distance (i.e. an air-conditioned indoor space), the Beaver State is full of great indoor-outdoor reception venues. If you're still in the midst of planning your big day in the state of Oregon, check out The Knot Marketplace for a list of Oregon wedding vendors.

Overall, the marriage license application process in Oregon is a straightforward one. Regardless, we've covered everything you need to know about it here—from license fees and online marriage applications to age requirements and blood tests. If you're thinking about changing your name, check out our piece on how to change your legal name in the state of Oregon.

How to Get Married in Oregon

If you're planning on getting married in the state of Oregon, you may be wondering how to go about making your marriage *official*. Well, you're in luck. We've answered all your questions about what you need to do before actually saying "I do."

Is there a waiting period to get married in Oregon?

There is a mandatory three-day waiting period between the issuance of your marriage license and your wedding ceremony. However, this waiting period can be waived by a county clerk or circuit court judge for "good cause." If you do try to waive the waiting period, note that there is a small waiver fee (typically between $5 and $20).

What are the legal requirements to get married in Oregon?

In order to say "I do" in Oregon, you need to be 18 years of age. However, you are permitted to marry in the state of Oregon at 17 with a notarized consent form from a parent or legal guardian. Don't want to get a notarized consent form? Seventeen-year-olds can also demonstrate parental approval by bringing a parent or legal guardian with them to the County Clerk's Office. Additionally, you don't need to worry about a blood test in Oregon—the state doesn't require one.

What's considered a common law marriage in Oregon?

You cannot establish a common law marriage in the state of Oregon, but Oregon will recognize common law marriages established in states that permit them.

Oregon Marriage License 101

Looking to get a marriage license in Oregon? The process is a fairly simple one. However, since every county in Oregon is a little different, it's important to check out the rules for your specific county.

Find all the vendors you need

Discover top-rated pros for any budget, background and style.

What do you need to get a marriage license in Oregon?

In order to get a marriage license in Oregon, you and your partner need to fill out the application form in person or online. You will also need to show a form of identification to the County Clerk, which could be a driver's license, passport or government-issued I.D.

Don't want to head to the County Clerk's Office? Some counties in Oregon allow you to submit your application materials through the mail. Make sure to check out the rules for your specific county to see if this could apply for you.

What does an Oregon marriage license cost?

Marriage license fees in Oregon vary county to county, but a marriage license typically costs between $50 and $60. Some counties in Oregon require you to pay with a cashier's check or money order, while others permit you to pay with cash, a credit card or a debit card.

How long does it take to get a marriage license in Oregon?

Marriage licenses are issued fairly quickly in Oregon. However, remember that you will have to abide by the state's three-day mandatory waiting period before your marriage ceremony. Once the marriage license is valid, you and your partner have 60 days to say "I do." Note that you or your officiant will also need to return your signed wedding license to the County Clerk's Office within five days of your marriage ceremony.

Can you apply for a marriage license online in Oregon?

Yes, you can apply for a marriage license online in Oregon. However, you and your partner will still need to appear at the County Clerk's Office to show your forms of identification. If you opt to fill out the application online, note that you'll have to appear at the County Clerk's Office within 30 days of filling out your online application. Otherwise, your application will get deleted in the County Clerk's computer system (and we definitely don't want that to happen).

How do you get a copy of your Oregon marriage license?

You can obtain a certified copy of your Oregon marriage license through the mail or by appearing at your County Clerk's Office in person. The cost of a certified copy varies county to county, but it typically costs between $4 and $10.

How to Plan an Oregon Wedding

Now, to the fun part—wedding planning. If you're still planning your Oregon wedding, we've answered some of the most common questions below. Whether you're wondering where to look for vendors or how to find a venue, we've got you covered.

The Different Cities and Areas to Consider for an Oregon Wedding

Set on the Pacific Ocean, Oregon is full of scenic settings—from vineyards and rustic barns to stunning beaches and national parks. The state of Oregon is the perfect spot to say "I do" for lovers of the outdoors who are looking for a venue that celebrates the natural world. (Read: big outdoorsy energy). However, if you're looking for more of a city vibe, Portland is a great city for a wedding. With hip breweries and cool art museums, you'll be able to find a venue that checks all of your boxes.

What to Look For in an Oregon Wedding Venue

When searching for an Oregon wedding venue, consider the size of your wedding and your preferred season. Whether you're looking for an all-inclusive venue or a venue that will allow you to design your dream day, the state of Oregon has plenty of options. For a complete list of fantastic Oregon wedding venues, check out The Knot Marketplace.

How to Find Oregon Wedding Vendors

The secret to a great wedding? Great wedding vendors. If you're still in the midst of searching for wedding vendors, we've got you covered. Head to The Knot Marketplace to find Oregon vendors for all of your different needs. No matter how specific your request, we have a vendor that's perfect for you.

The Best Times of Year to Have an Oregon Wedding for Good Weather

Known for its relatively temperate weather for most of the year, Oregon is famous for its beautiful fall season. (Read: prime wedding season.) Be wary of planning a wedding during the chilly winter or dry summer (especially during wildfire season). If you're tying the knot during the summer or the winter seasons, you may want to consider an indoor venue.

Up Next
  • Oregon couple during wedding recessional
    How to Get Your Name Changed in Oregon After Marriage