Here's What to Do With Your Wedding Website After the Wedding

Read this before you delete it.
Couple smiling while on wedding website after the wedding.
fizkes/Shutterstock
chapelle johnson the knot assistant editor
by
Chapelle Johnson
chapelle johnson the knot assistant editor
Chapelle Johnson
Assistant Editor
  • Chapelle writes articles for The Knot Worldwide. She covers all things wedding-related and has a personal interest in covering celebrity engagements and fashion.
  • Before joining The Knot Worldwide, Chapelle was an editorial intern for Subvrt Magazine.
  • Chapelle has a degree in English writing from Loyola University New Orleans.
Updated Jun 24, 2022

Once you tie the knot, you'll have a few postwedding to-dos to take care of. Checklist items like thank-you cards, registry returns and freezing the top tier of your wedding cake are just some things that might be top of mind. But don't forget about your wedding website after the wedding. According to The Knot 2021 Real Weddings Study, 84% of newlyweds created a wedding website and 79% used it to share key details about their wedding with guests. If you made a wedding website during the planning process, you know it's a great tool for communicating important details, but you may be wondering if it carries the same importance after. Should you leave it be, hide it or delete it? Here's everything you need to know about what happens to your wedding website after the big day and the benefits of keeping it (or not).

What Happens to Your Wedding Website on The Knot After the Wedding

How long will my wedding website stay up on The Knot?

We know that some newlyweds like to use their wedding website after the wedding, whether it's to post honeymoon updates or to keep track of remaining registry items, so we don't automatically delete your site after the wedding. Instead, your site stays up for one year after your wedding date. The Knot will send a notification to your The Knot user account or email you to let you know that your site is about to expire. You'll also be informed of what options you have to extend the life of your website if you choose.

If you purchased a custom domain for your wedding website, it doesn't automatically renew after the one or two-year term. Instead, you'll be notified when the expiration date for your custom domain is approaching and will be provided with options to renew or cancel. If you decide to cancel, your wedding website will revert to its original free address, but no information will be lost. You'll be able to see the new address in the wedding website dashboard.

How do I make my wedding website private?

Want to make your wedding website private so only you and your guests can access it? Well, this is how you do it:

  • Step one: Log into your account on The Knot and go to your wedding website dashboard.

  • Step two: You'll then click on the "Manage" tab next to the "Privacy Settings" tab.

  • Step three: Once in "Privacy Settings," click on the "Visibility" tab and switch the "Allow your site to appear in search engines" option to "No."

  • Step four: When you click "Done" it will save your decision. This change means that your wedding website URL will no longer appear in search engine results, but keep in mind this will take up to 30 days to process. Lastly, you will need to share the exact URL with your guests in order for them to easily find your website.

What happens to my information after I delete my wedding website?

Deleting your wedding website means that all of the content you posted on your site will be removed from The Knot's servers, including your photos, wedding details and guest list manager information. If you want to keep this information, but not the website itself, you can screenshot all of this content and save it on your computer. If you want to delete your wedding website after the wedding, you'll have to complete a few simple steps:

  • Step one: Log into your account on The Knot and go to your wedding website dashboard.

  • Step two: You'll then click on the "Manage" tab next to the "Privacy Settings" tab.

  • Step three: Once in "Privacy Settings," click on the "Deactivate Your Wedding Website" tab and read through the information provided in the pop-up window.

  • Step four: After you've carefully read through the information, select "Deactivate Now."

Please note that deleting your wedding website and deleting your user account on The Knot are completely different processes and have different results. By deleting your account, all the information and content associated with the account will be removed, which includes your registry manager on TheKnot.com and email address.

Benefits of Keeping Your Wedding Website After the Wedding

You and your partner put a lot of work into your wedding website, so deleting it after the wedding may feel a little abrupt. If you're on the fence about whether or not you should keep your wedding website, check out these five benefits to help with your decision.

You can upload all of your wedding photos.

Swap out your engagement cover photo for a stunning pic from your wedding day—once your photographer sends them back, that is. Feel free to include a thank-you message on the homepage too (although this doesn't get you out of handwriting thank-you cards). You could also share a larger selection of photos from your wedding day that includes guests and scenic shots, then tell your guests to head to your site to find their faves. Everyone will want to watch your wedding video when it's ready, so post it on your website for friends and family to see.

People who can't make it can still enjoy the wedding.

Unfortunately, not everyone you invite will be able to make it to your special day. Scheduling conflicts, the destination of the wedding or COVID restrictions are just a few things that can get in the way. Luckily, your wedding website already has all of your wedding details and photos (if you've uploaded them), so those who couldn't attend can fully immerse themselves in your wedding. So, make sure to keep your site up for at least a couple of months after your wedding so guests can explore the memories to the fullest.

It gives your guests more time to use your registry.

Ideally, your guests should send wedding gifts before the big day, but we all have loved ones who wait until the last minute (or even longer) to get their act together. Some wedding experts say that guests have up to a year after the wedding to head to your registry and send a gift. We suggest that guests send registry gifts, at most, two months after the wedding day. This way, if you're using The Knot Registry, you don't have to wait for your guests to send you the things you really want. Instead, you can purchase the remaining products from your registry using your postwedding discount of 20% off eligible items, which is valid for up to six months after your wedding. So don't delete your wedding website before everyone's had a chance to choose a great gift. All you need to do is stay active on your website (by updating it with photos or postwedding news) and let the gifts roll in.

You can share your honeymoon details.

If honeymoon photos and anecdotes are in high demand from loved ones, update your site with snaps and a few fun details from your trip. Posting your honeymoon details on your wedding website is a quick and easy process that will ensure you're not flooding your loved ones' social media feeds with your honeymoon trip—and it gives anyone without social media a chance to still feel included. As a safety precaution, make sure to not post the exact place you're staying, your hotel room number or any other private information until you get back from the trip.

It's a digital wedding keepsake.

Do you love having mementos of your favorite memories? Then keeping your wedding website after the wedding is the perfect decision for you. Besides having your basic wedding details on your site, like the wedding party bios, order of events or registry information, you'll have a digital wedding keepsake of your love story, wedding photos and much more. Your wedding website saves all your posts for as long as you want, giving you and your guests time to reminisce about all the joy-filled moments you shared during your wedding for years to come.

Watch Now

Up Next
  • Glass shadowbox with couple's names and wedding date in minimalist white type
    14 Wedding Keepsake Boxes to Hold Your Memories