How to Get Legally Married in Utah and Plan Your UT Wedding
Planning your wedding day should be fun and exciting, but it can be stressful when legal requirements and paperwork get involved. There are steps you need to take to legally obtain a marriage license in the state of Utah, but the good news is, the marriage license application process is pretty straightforward. We've included the basics that you need to know in this handy guide to make this part of planning your big day easier for you. It's also important to know how to change your name in Utah after your big day. Get ready for your best day ever in the beautiful Beehive State with this rundown of the Utah marriage license process.
How to Get Married in Utah
Compared to other states, the legal process of getting married in Utah is quite simple, and you can tie the knot without adding too many items to your to-do list. Here's what you need to know when it comes to the legal requirements of and how to get married in UT.
Is there a waiting period to get married in Utah?
There's no waiting period to get married in the state of Utah. You can get married as soon as you get your license, and you must have your marriage ceremony and your license signed and returned within 32 days of obtaining it. After this timeframe, your marriage license expires.
What are the legal requirements to get married in Utah?
In the state of Utah, you must be at least 16 years of age or older to get married. If you're 16 or 17 years old and want to get married, you need signed consent from your legal parent or legal guardian before a marriage license can be issued to you. Additionally, you'll need to apply for approval of the marriage in juvenile court. Permission from juvenile court may come with additional conditions such as completing premarital counseling, for example. And there's one more thing you should know: if you're under 18 years of age but have been married before, you don't need consent to get married a second time.
If you're 18 years of age or older, you don't need consent to get married. You can get married with proper proof of identification and other additional information (more on that in the next section). But keep in mind, there are some conditions worth noting when it comes to who you can marry. You can't marry your first cousin or any relative closer than a first cousin, except those over 65 years of age or over the age of 55, and both parties cannot reproduce.
What's considered a common law marriage in Utah?
Utah doesn't have common law marriages, but two parties can ask the court to recognize their relationship as a marriage without having had a marriage ceremony. If the court approves the request, the partners will be considered married. For your request to be approved, you have to meet a set of requirements, including being of legal age, are capable of entering a solemnized marriage, have lived together, treat each other as if they are married, and present themselves to the public in a way that exemplifies marriage.
If you want to go this route, you'll need to complete the necessary documents and file them in the district court in the county you reside in. You must also pay a filing fee when you file the papers with the district court. The documents must be served to the other party by one of the methods described in the Utah legislature. The served party has a designated timeframe in which they have to respond to the petition. You can find more information on the utcourts.gov website.
Utah Marriage License 101
If you and your future spouse have decided to tie the knot in Utah and confirmed that you could legally get married in the state, you'll need to apply for your marriage license. Here's everything you need to know about the marriage license application process in UT.
What Do You Need to Get a Marriage License in Utah?
In addition to the application itself, both parties wishing to marry will need to know both applicants' full names, addresses, dates and birthplaces. You'll also need to know the names and birthplaces of your parents, applicants (that includes maiden names, too). Know your Social Security Number and bring your Social Security Card unless you don't have one to provide, as well as a valid picture ID to show proof of age (i.e., valid driver's license, passport, birth certificate or a state ID card) at the time of application.
You and your future spouse will have to show up in person together at any county clerk's office to apply for your marriage license. Be sure to double-check the specific requirements of the County Clerk's Office of your choice before you schedule your appointment.
Your marriage needs to be solemnized by an officiant, and certain individuals can legally do that for you. Ministers, rabbis, priests, Utah county clerks, Native American spiritual advisors, the governor, mayors, Justice Court Judges, A Commissioner of a court of record, the president of the Senate, the speaker of the House of Representatives, and other legislative members designated by Utah Code 30-1-6 may perform wedding ceremonies. No matter who you choose to solemnize your marriage, that person must sign a certificate of marriage and file the certificate and marriage license with the county clerk who originally issued you the license.
What does a Utah marriage license cost?
A Utah marriage license might cost you anywhere from $40 to $50, depending on the county you're in. This license fee might include certified copies of your marriage license. According to the Utah Courts website, some counties don't charge license fees but charge for certified copies. Be sure to check with your specific county for additional information.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Utah?
Since there isn't a waiting period in Utah, it seems like you can show up and complete the marriage license application process fairly quickly. And once you have your license, you can get married right away if you choose!
Can you apply for a marriage license online in Utah?
Currently, Utah County appears to issue marriage licenses by online application entirely. You can check the Utah County website for more information on how to submit your online application.
Additionally, some counties prefer that you start the application process online before making your in-person appointment to get your paperwork signed. Some counties, like Salt Lake County, only issue marriage licenses by appointment only. It's important to research or call the county you plan to obtain your marriage license from in advance to learn the ins and outs of their process. Never assume that two counties will be identical in their requirements.
How do you get a copy of your Utah marriage license?
Depending on which county you apply for your marriage license, you may receive a couple of certified copies of your marriage license as part of the fees you pay to the court. If not, you can obtain certified copies of your Utah marriage certificate from Utah Vital Records online. Or you can contact the county office you applied for your marriage license in and order certified copies of your marriage license. In the state of Utah, a marriage license and a marriage certificate are the same documents.
How to Plan a Utah Wedding
Now that you know everything you need to know about obtaining your marriage license in Utah, you can get back to planning your special day. If you aren't sure where to start, we've rounded up some wedding location ideas and tips for choosing wedding vendors to help you get started.
The Different Cities and Areas to Consider for a Utah Wedding
Few states have scenic views as beautiful as Utah. From the central Rockies to five national parks, colorful canyons and the Great Salt Lake, your wedding day is guaranteed to be unforgettable amidst a gorgeous Utah backdrop.
One of the most popular cities to get married in Utah is Salt Lake City. Home to the previously mentioned Great Salt Lake, and with views of the Wasatch Mountains, this location is dreamy if you're looking for a natural outdoor setting for your big day.
What to Look for in a Utah Wedding Venue
Your number one priority when choosing your wedding venue should be to focus on the elements that are most important to you. Maybe you're set on an outdoor wedding with mountainous views, or perhaps you're aiming for a rustic yet recreational vibe. Whatever your preferences are, you'll want to make sure you know what those are when browsing Utah wedding venues. You'll have plenty of options to choose from, so make sure you find one that meets your requirements.
How to Find Utah Wedding Vendors
Looking for vendors can feel overwhelming, especially because there are so many options to choose from particularly in Salt Lake City. If you aren't sure where to start, begin your search with the help of The Knot Marketplace for all of your wedding planning needs.
The Best Times of Year to Have a Utah Wedding for Good Weather
Utah has a dry and arid climate, and many couples prefer to marry in June, July or August. That's not to say you can't get married during other seasons. In fact, if you enjoy the cold season, Utah is a beautiful state for a winter wedding (and you can hit the slopes for your honeymoon if you're into that sort of thing). In the spring, Utah sees temperatures in the 50s and 60s, so a mild spring wedding is an option too.